Episode 18.1: The Poetry Bonus EP

May 15, 2014 § Leave a comment

Hello again!

At the outset of putting together the 18th episode, I knew I couldn’t reasonably expect listeners to sit through almost three hours of this business, but there was too much good stuff left on the cutting room floor, so I knew fairly early on that there would be a “bonus EP” of sorts. In the spirit of the other Haines-inspired title, I’m calling this one What this Was Going to Supposed to Mean. The URL for the podcast, which you can stream or download (or get through iTunes – you can even subscribe through iTunes and get all future podcasts automatically) is http://dpcoffey46406.podomatic.com/entry/2014-05-15T08_16_47-07_00

Here’s the tracklist, following the format of Episode 18, it’s just bare bones, with credits and other info directly following it. Please take a look at the previous blog post for more info on all the albums from which these tracks are culled. I won’t rehash info at the album level, only what’s unique and pertinent at the level of each individual track.

Episode 18.1 Playlist

  1. (00:00) “Testing Testing”
  2. (03:00) “In a Landscape X”
  3. (06:16) “Art in Heaven”
  4. (08:50) “What Is Free to a Good Home (For Robert Wyatt)”
  5. (13:55) “Live on the Internet: A Diary (April 7)”
  6. (17:51) “Cellular Phone”
  7. (21:04) “In a Landscape XL”
  8. (23:47) “Third World Two Medley: She Was Showing Me / Boint Liver”
  9. (26:15) “Vocalise (For Jeanne Lee)”
  10. (45:23) “Paint Me!”
  11. (50:48) “Toy Epigrams”
  12. (53:42) “Today”
  13. (57:05) “In a Landscape XXXVI”
  14. (59:17) “What this Was Going to Supposed to Mean”
  15. (1:01:27) “This Dedication”
  • Tracks 1, 3, 8, 14 and 15 are from the Darn It!  album.
  • Tracks 2, 7 and 13 were recorded by John Gallaher.
  • Tracks 4, 10 and 12 are from Curlew’s A Beautiful Western Saddle album.
  • Track 5 was recorded by Becca Klaver.
  • Track 6 was from Karen Alkalay-Gut’s album Thin Lips.
  • Track 9 was from the Joelle Leandre / Steve Dalachinsky album The Bill Has Been Paid.
  • Track 11 was from the Bernadette Mayer reading captured on the Rattle up a Deer CD.

All information given in the previous blog post applies here as well except for the following:

  • Track 1 features the voices of Paul Haines’s sons, and the latter part of the track features guitar and bass from ex-“No Wave” pioneer and DNA member Tim Wright.
  • Track 3 finds Derek Bailey playing guitar and reciting Haines’s poem.
  • Track 8 features vocals by Mary Margaret O’Hara, Fernando Saunders on bass, and Gary Lucas on guitar. Gary also wrote the music.
  • On track 14 you’ll hear saxophone from Evan Parker and vocals by Carmen Lundy.
  • Finally, track 15 was written by, and features tenor sax from, John Tchicai, bass by Andy Gonzalez, and drums by Marvin Smith.

Enjoy, and let Papers for the Border know what you think!


Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

What’s this?

You are currently reading Episode 18.1: The Poetry Bonus EP at Papers for the Border Podcast.


%d bloggers like this: